top of page
  • sarihwilholm

HEAVY LOAD New Client!

Forty years has passed since Heavy Load released their latest all new album, Stronger than Evil (1983). Now, at last, on October 6th, Heavy Load will release their long-awaited comeback album titled: Riders of the Ancient Storm.

Heavy Load’s comeback album rings of their well-known sound and songwriting. Still, many songs echo of these pioneers’ famous Viking themes and existential lyrics. Still, the compositions are dramatic and render a great variety of moods. At the same time, passionate innovation and creative fervour shine bright in every song on the album.

It is generally held that Heavy Load was the band that started the Swedish wave of heavy metal. The band was formed by the brothers Ragne and Styrbjörn Wahlquist in the middle of the 1970s: first concert in 1976, first album-release in 1978.

The Viking heritage has been an important source of inspiration ever since their childhood. The brothers’ emotional connection to people of a remote past, people with whom they share everlasting human challenges, was destined to find an outlet in their music. As a consequence, the brothers merged 70’s Hard Rock with Viking settings and sentiments, resulting in the band’s distinctive style of music, lyrics and artwork for their album covers: Viking Metal – a style which came to inspire later bands in Sweden and elsewhere, a style that now has many followers around the globe.

The brothers’ Viking-inspiration has also found its expression in yet another artform. Ragne Wahlquist is the author of Wahlgaard Saga – a series of novels soon to be released in both English and Swedish. The series is a family saga in a Viking age setting. Several scenes in the novels are also rendered in the lyrics on the new Heavy Load album.

𝗥𝗲𝗽𝘂𝗯𝗹𝗶𝗰 𝟲𝟲 is proud to present Heavy Load as our latest client as we will help them promote their upcoming full-length album “Riders of the Ancient Storm" through No Remorse Records. The album can be pre-ordered from TODAY (September 6th) and will be released in its full glory on October 6th!


Ragne Wahlquist– Vocals, Guitars and Keyboards Styrbjörn Wahlquist – Vocals, Drums and Percussion Niclas Sunnerberg – Guitars and Backing Vocals Torbjörn Ragnesjö – Bass

Welcome to the Republic 66 family!


bottom of page