top of page
  • sarihwilholm

New CANDLEMASS album “Sweet Evil Sun” out today!

Candlemass long-awaited new full-length album “Sweet Evil Sun” is released today, November 18, both physically and digitally through Napalm Records. The recording process has taken 18 months as the band were very determined that everything needed to be perfect. All songs are recorded in NOX Studio in Stockholm and produced by Marcus Jidell, who has done a very solid job to make the band sound as big and bombastic as possible. With that being said Candlemass have created an album that feels modern and innovative, without compromising their patented and beloved doom sound. The reception of the two singles “Scandinavian Gods” and the title track “Sweet Evil Sun” has shown that they really have succeeded, as both critics and fans have been extremely enthusiastic. The album's cover is illustrated by Erik Rovanperä, who has been responsible for all Candlemass artwork since 2012. On the song “When Death Sighs” are no other than Jennie-Ann Smith from the celebrated band Avatarium invited as special guest and shares the vocals with Johan Längquist.

"Sweet Evil Sun is a journey through faith, hope, love and betrayal!" - Leif Edling, Candlemass Read full press release in Swedish here:

Candlemass is:

Johan Längquist – Vocals

Mats “Mappe” Björkman – Guitar

Lars “Lasse” Johansson – Lead guitar

Leif Edling – Bass

Jan Lindh – Drums


bottom of page